District 1, 2 Incumbents Will Stay Put for Another 4 Years

Thursday, April 06, 2017 Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)

By Veronica Mackey


It was a clear victory for Councilman George Dotson Tuesday night as he retained his seat in District 1 on the Inglewood City Council, capturing  65.7% of votes. Maxine Toler came in a distant second with 26.1%, followed by Leroy Fisher with 6.6% and Hugo Ramirez with 1.5%.  


District 2 Councilman Alex Padilla ran unopposed.  


“I am so grateful for a chance to have 4 more years in the city of Inglewood,” Dotson said beaming.  “I want to see our city continue to grow and develop.  I want to see the senior center open in November. We are well on our way.”


With re-election behind him, Dotson is looking forward to seeing the new Inglewood emerge, a city that he described as “one of the greatest small cities in America.”


The development of downtown Inglewood, located in his district, is something Dotson has been waiting for a long time.  “I can’t wait to get started with the D3 lot at the corner of La Brea and Florence.  That mixed-use development is really going to break up Market Street and bring new development downtown,” Dotson said.


The Election Night victory was spent with a full house of well wishers—which included Mayor James Butts, and council colleagues—at the headquarters office, 401 Hillcrest Avenue, Suite A.  “It made me feel like a winner before I knew I was the winner,” he said. 


Voter turnout was low, which is, unfortunately, typical of Inglewood. 


“We have 69,000 plus registered voters and less than 3,500 people voted citywide. Just 4.8%.  I don’t know what else we can do to change that.”


In the school board race, Dionne Faulk defeated Odest Riley, Jr. for Seat 1 with 66.1 percent of votes. Carliss McGhee ran unopposed in the school board race for Seat 2, as did Ngaue Tu’uholoaki for Seat 3.


Inglewood voters also said yes to Measure DE.  The Inglewood City Charter Amendment will allow Inglewood city schools to change the method of election of the Board of Education.





Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.

Latest Tweets

Could not authenticate you.

Signup For Our Newsletter!

Sign up here to recieve our e-newsletter!